August 19, 2013

  • Back to school and back to the doctors

    First day of the semester. I’m only taking physics this semester in order to improve my grade from last fall. 
    I’m either going to use that to help my chances of getting into Medical Diagnostic Sonography program, or boost my chances of getting into a Radiation Therapy Program. I haven’t checked out too much about the Radiation therapy program but I need to. It requires physics too, so if I do choose that path it won’t be a semester wasted I suppose. In spring, I plan to take trigonometry and computer fundamentals because those are the only two things I need to apply for the radiation program. 

    I have the same professor as I did last fall. He make a joke asking if I was there to teach when he saw he walk up to get my hand outs. I sort of laughed and said yeah. He asked why I was back and I said I was improving my grade so I’d have a better chance at a program at UAMS. He said he expects me to help my row out. I smiled and said I will. I’m nervous about that expectation because I feel sooo rusty! Hopefully I’ll get the swing of things soon. 
    I’ve been working on the hand outs since I got home and I’m doing okay. I’m going to need to memorize/refresh on the conversions because those aren’t too strong. And I got to figure out my graphing calculator better. Hopefully I can find a video on the internet since Trey’s gone for two weeks for some Active Duty Orders. He’s in Wynne, Arkansas and he doesn’t have service there. :( He was in Searcy about an hour ago and sent me a text to let me know he was safe and that he loved me. :) Other than that, I probably won’t here from him much, if any. 
    I also need to get online and start the online homework. I’ll either start that tonight after work, or tomorrow. 
    I’ve been running more which I like. :) A month or so ago, I made a new personal record of a 6:45 mile. Well, on the 9th I went running with Trey at the airbase gym and I ran a mile in 5:52!! He did 5:22-5:30 (I had my phone as a stopwatch). I was so freakin’ excited about my new time! :D Then o the 13th, we were there running again and I ran a mile in 5:47!!! I was SOOOO HAPPY!! It was funny because Trey had made a status about running a mile in 5:22 and someone commented saying that they hated tall people. He responded saying he wasn’t all that tall (5’11″) and that he saw a 5’2″ female come in just 30 seconds behind him! Haha, it makes me excited when I do awesome. I met with the APN/LPC, Tara, at school who prescribes me citalopram (generic celexa) today and was talking to her about my life and mentioned my run time and she nicknamed me “Sub-six” :) She said back in high school and college she did track and ran sprints and she could never break 7 minutes, so me getting under 6 minutes was really amazing! She wants me to start competing and doing races because she thinks I could be super competitive. 
    On a semi-related note. I set up a doctors appointment at Ortho-Arkansas for Friday to have my knees and ankles checked out. They’ve hurt since I was 9 or 10 and I’m 20 now. It feels like it’s in the joint or bones. I went to the doctor when I was 10, but they just said it was possibly juvenile arthritis and to take ibuprofen and talk to some-joint-surgeon if that doesn’t work. I’ve done gymnastics from 2-11 and then cheerleading from 11-15, then 17-18, so it’s fair to say my joints have gotten pounded quite a bunch but still, I’m only 20. I shouldn’t have frequent, excruciating pain in my knees and ankles. I’ve been trying to ice it more and use ibuprofen less because I’m tired of taking so many pills. Hopefully, they’ll be able to figure out what’s wrong with me and help. I’m too young to constantly be in pain and to feel crippled.
    Anyways, I’m going to try to get back to reading my chapter in physics until I have to go to work. 

Comments (4)

  • Sub-Six? I like that! Track team Woman! And try to not take ibuprofen on an empty stomach. Long term use can hurt your stomach lining. See ya’ later, Sub-Six!  

  • Awesome job running! You go girl! 

  • @VanillaBoostPlus - Thanks! :) )

    @soltero_alma - And I’ll be sure to eat first. I’ve been actually trying to take it less and just ice the pain, but that doesn’t always help. Maybe the doctor will be able to wave a magic wand over my knees and ankles and it’ll be all fixed? Lol, if only it were that simple.

  • That’s a good nick-name, sub six.

    I don’t think I can ever do sub-six, at least not outside the gym.  I haven’t run that regularly; when i was running 5-6x a week, maybe i could, now that i am barely doing 2-3, I am not that quick anymore.  You’re a fast runner, and very aero-dynamic. :P
    I agree with the above comment – don’t take ibuprofen on an empty stomach, because once the lining in your stomach is damage, you might get ulcer, and if that’s the case, no more coffee or anything caffeinated for you, for the rest of your life.
    Sorry to hear about your joint pain.  That’s not the way to live for the rest of your life. I hope the doctor will figure you out.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *